Skip to main content

Last 500 km athlete reaches finish line

By 15. March 2024NEWS ENGLISH
Copyright: Callum Jolliffe

All remaining athletes in the 500 km race have reached the finish line. That’s a total of 15 finishers out of 19 athletes who started. In a race like this, non-stop, in the winter and over that kind of a distance – that is an extremely good ratio. Especially, considering how soft the trails were on the first two days. It was a real pleasure seeing all back in Överkalix. After Florian, Mathieu, Thierry, Peter and Tommy, we were able to welcome:

Pascal Bleys (Belgium)
Anim Swart (Canada)
Kasper Johansen (Denmark)
Josephine Bush (England)
Enrique Trull Maravilla (Spain)
Paul Fosh (England)
Pat Cooke-Rogers (England)
Phil Cowell (England)
Alla Bova (USA)
Thanh Vu (Vietnam)

They are all extraordinary athletes and it was so much fun to be part of their adventure here in Swedish Lapland. We have many posts in our Social Media channels about how it all went. More is still to come. Also, soon I will have a full photo gallery here on our website, in case you do not like or use facebook and/or Instagram.

A big thank you to all athletes in all distances and disciplines – finishers or not. Thank you to the amazing crew, Sam, Callum, Sophie, Shannon, Catherine, Kate, Kelly, Thomas, our snowmobile guides Henrik, Daniel, Roland, Arnold, Robin and Jonas, our race photographer Jonas Palsson, checkpoints/checkpoint hosts Ann-Sofi, Hans and Robin from Jockfall, Grand Arctic Resort Överkalix, Lansjärv Folkets Hus, Leipojärvi Snowmobile Club team Eva, Jan, Leif and all the others, Nattavaara Hembygdsförening, Sveaskog, transfer drivers Anne and Hakan, Niclas and Linnea and all others who got the Lapland Arena project off the ground, Jockfall, Gällivare and Överkalix snowmobile clubs, and, again, Robin, Daniel and Henrik who also did a lot of trail grooming and marking, our sponsors Montane, Kahtoola, Racelite, Jockfall Fishing & Activities, Grand Arctic Resort Överkalix, SOTO, Wrightsock, Fjällcom, Sveaskog, Firepot, innova, Reko, Acapulka, Swedish Lapland, Gällivare Kommun and Överkalix Kommun.